Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher claims that Trent Alexander-Arnold should have been sent off for his challenge on Dominic Calvert-Lewin against Everton at the weekend.
Liverpool lost 2-0 to Everton at Anfield and the game ended in controversy as the second goal for the Toffees came via a debatable penalty decision late in the match.
Calvert-Lewin was impeded by Alexander-Arnold just as he looked to race onto a loose ball in the box, with a gaping goal to tap into, and the referee awarded a penalty, but not a red card. The referee had a quick glance at the incident again on the monitor before instantly confirming his decision, with Gylfi Sigurdsson converting from the spot.
Gallagher points out that it was the correct decision to award the spot-kick as Alexander-Arnold slides into Calvert-Lewin’s path and kicks his leg up, which stops the Everton striker from scoring – what would have been – a simple tap-in. He says that the referee failed to follow the correct process of checking the penalty and then the red card, which resulted in Alexander-Arnold remaining on the field.
Sky Sports News shared the clip on Twitter, with Gallager explaining why the decision was correct, but also why the referee was wrong not to show Alexander-Arnold a red card.
"Where can Trent Alexander-Arnold go? I'm not convinced it's a penalty."
The #RefWatch panel take a look at one of the biggest decisions from the weekend – Everton's penalty at Anfield…
What are your thoughts? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/1Lz0FRK2IM
— Sky Sports News (@SkySportsNews) February 22, 2021
I’m a 22-year-old from Lowestoft who supports Norwich. I write and edit content for Anfield Watch and previously worked for Fresh Press as a content creator.